CLOSED: Bess Whitehead Scott Journalism Scholarship

The Bess Whitehead Scott Journalism Scholarship was established in 1991 to honor Bess W. Scott, a pioneer Texas journalist and writer who died in 1997 at age 107. She had a long career as a newspaper reporter and editor, publicist, teacher, ad agency manager and magazine writer. The $2,000 award is granted annually to an upperclassman university student pursuing a degree in journalism or a related field.

Eligibility Requirements

  1. Must be currently enrolled at one of the following:
    Baylor University
    Sam Houston State University
    Texas A&M University
    Texas State University
    University of Mary Hardin-Baylor
    University of North Texas
  2. Must be a junior or senior in the fall semester of the same calendar year as the application deadline.
  3. Must be pursuing study towards a degree in journalism or a related field
  4. Must demonstrate financial need.

Fields of Study
Journalism/Mass Communications/Radio-Television-Film or a similar designation

Use of Scholarship
Money will be paid directly to the university for credit to the student account of the winner.

Supplemental Questions
  1. Parent/Permanent Street Address
  2. Parent/Permanent City
  3. Parent/Permanent State
  4. Parent/Permanent Zip Code
  5. Please upload a copy of your current resume, including names, titles, and contact information for three references.
  6. Show 13 more